This is the 7th year the Department of Agriculture (DA) held the Rice Achievers Awarding Ceremony to recognize provinces, cities and municipalities, Irrigators’ associations (IAs) and small water irrigation system associations (SWISAs) for their outstanding and significant contribution to the rice industry.

Held at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Pasay City on May 31, 2018, two provinces in Zamboanga Peninsula bagged the most outstanding award for 2017 Rice Achievers.

Zamboanga del Sur, under the governance of Governor Antonio H. Cerilles, and Zamboanga Sibugay under Governor Wilter Y. Palma. They each received trophies and checks worth Php4 million, respectively.


The Municipality of Molave, under Mayor Ireneo Glepa garnered the most outstanding municipality in the region. They were awarded with a trophy and a check worth Php1 million.

Molmah Farmers Irrigators Association, Molave, Zamboanga del Sur was among the eight Irrigators Associations awarded Outstanding Irrigator’s Association. Lamare Small Water Impounding System Association, Inc., Bayog, Zamboanga del Sur supported by Mayor Leonardo Babasa, Jr. was among the three awardees of Outstanding Small Water Irrigation System Associations. The winners were awarded at the event with trophies and checks for Php500,000 each.

Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel “Manny” Piñol, Senator Cynthia A. Villar, presented the awards to the winners together with officials from the National Irrigation Administration, Bureau of Soils and Water Management, and other DA bureaus and attached agencies.

“Our rice achievers have significantly contributed to the increase of our rice production last year by 1.65 Million Metric Tons in 2017. We are at 19.28 Million Metric Tons in 2017 compared to 17.63 Million Metric Tons 2016,” Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel F. Pinol announced.

Also present during the ceremony to support Zamboanga Peninsula are DA – Regional Field Office IX Director Constancio G. Alama, Assistant Regional Director Dr. Dennis H. Palabrica, Assistant Regional Director Maria Melba B. Wee, Regional Rice Program Coordinator Jessie Munda and the Provincial, Municipal, Technical Agriculturist of the winning provinces and municipalities. (ICabeguin/DA9)

Back to Top