“Our regional agricultural achievers deserve this recognition, without them, we would never attain the expected yield and production in our agricultural commodities.” said Dr. Dennis H. Palabrica, Department of Agriculture IX (DA9) assistant director.

This year, the DA in its Regional Achievers Awarding Ceremony held at Mibang Hotel, Dipolog City recognized the unwavering support and contributions of the outstanding Local Government Units (LGU), Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs), and stakeholders in the region.

The 2017 Regional Achievers Awardees are the following: Rosenda Consolacion of Tigbao, Zamboanga del Sur is Outstanding Rural Woman GAD. The Province of Zamboanga del Sur is 2017 Quality Corn Achievers Regional Outstanding Provincial Local Government Unit; Dr. Joel M. Sabellano of Zamboanga del Sur is Regional Outstanding Provincial Agriculturist; Yolanda L. Enriquez of Zamboanga del Sur is Regional Provincial Corn Coordinator; Municipality of San Miguel, Municipality of Mahayag and Pagadian City are Regional Outstanding Municipal/City Local Government Units; Alicio A. Pabiran of San Miguel, ZDS is Regional Outstanding Municipal Agriculturist and Annie C. Tenorio of Pagadian City is Regional Outstanding City Agriculturist.

The regional outstanding Corn Coordinators are Neri A. Frigillano of Mahayag, Zamboanga del Sur, Leonila T. Martines of San Miguel, Zamboanga del Sur, and Shirley D. Padua of Pagadian City.

The regional outstanding Corn Agricultural Extension Workers (AEW) in the province of Zamboanga del Sur are Remedios P. Gores of Mahayag, Lilia P. Grijalvo of San Miguel, Marvin T. Talas of San Miguel, Sarah A. Subrian of San Miguel, Joselito Sumalinog of Pagadian City, Arlene D. Oporto of Ramon Magsaysay, Belen E. Alvarez of Dumingag, Evelyn P. Cimafranca of Aurora and Editha M. Quicoy of the municipality of Labangan.

The Aseniero Cluster Farmers Association of Dapitan City received the Regional Cassava Cluster Management Excellence Award while the Dapitan City Cassava Growers and Processors Association won the CORNUCOPIA AWARD.

The 2016 Rice Achiever awardees with ₱20,000 cash gift are Nora L. Paredes of Bayog, ZDS, Madeline Esther S. Lagare of Midsalip, ZDS, Clarissa V. Toralba of Ramon Magsaysay, ZDS, Elsa A. Bagforo of Siay, ZSP, Bienvenido A. Tomas of Titay, ZSP, Engr. Kerr N. Porlas of Dipolog City, Luz Dela Cruz of Sindangan, ZDN, Edgar M. Agayan of Polanco, ZDN, Anecita Gealon of Tambulig, ZDS, Fernando Cordova of Guipos, ZDS, Ronilo Motorol of Bayog, ZDS, Edwina Caray of Bayog, ZDS, Joel Vigilia of Titay, ZSP and Eva Tejada of Buug, ZSP.

The Rice Achiever – Local Farmer Technician (LFT) awardees are : Fausto Empeynado of Polanco, ZDN, and Jessie delas Alas of Midsalip, ZDS, with 20,000 cash award.

The GAWAD SAKA awarded ₱30,000 for individual winners and ₱50,000 for group/association/organization, and ₱ 15,000 for Special Citation. The regional winners are Ronald Parameo of Labangan, Zamboanga del Sur as Outstanding High Value Crops Farmer; Reynaldo P. Montañez of Labangan, Zamboanga del Sur as Outstanding as Outstanding Small Animal Raiser; Cassava Growers and Processor, Association, Inc. of Zamboanga del Norte of Dapitan City as Outstanding Agri-Entrepreneur, People’s Officials, Employees and Community Multi-Purpose Cooperative (POEMCO) of Polanco, Zamboanga del Norte as Outstanding Small Farmer/Fisherfolk Organization; Molave Munucipal Agricultral and Fishery Council, Zamboanga del Sur, as Outstanding Municipal Agricultural and Fishery Council (MAFC); Villa C. Sudaical Rural Improvement Club (RIC), of Liloy, Zamboanga del Norte as Outstanding Rural Improvement Club. While Celso U. Otero Jr. of San Miguel, Zamboanga del Sur received a Special Citation as Outstanding Young Farmer; William Hamoy of Sinaropan, Vitali, Zamboanga City also Special Citation as Outstanding Corn Farmer; and Good Year Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Multi-Purpose Cooperative (GARBEMCO), Special Citation as Outstanding Small Farmer/Fisherfolk Organization from Kabasalan, Zamboanga Sibugay Province.

During the awarding ceremony, DA9 regional gawad saka coordinator Erwin Rodriguez said that the department conducts the yearly gawad saka search and the awarding ceremony is done after the regional evaluation. “The evaluation team comprises of DA and its attached agencies and representatives of the agriculture and fishery council. The DA acknowledges the commendable efforts in the field of these achievers to secure food sufficiency in our region.” he said.

Jessica B. Mangumpit, President of Villa C. Sudiacal RIC shared her thoughts after receiving the regional winner award for outstanding RIC in the entire Zamboanga Peninsula. She said, “today we are very inspired to continue to do our work in the field, not because we were given an award but because we know we are serving many people. We are grateful to DA for the award and to God who we always put our trust.” (ICabeguin,DA9)

Back to Top